Alberto Lauro – Cuba

Alberto-Lauro-Cuba-Ecrivain

  

Alberto Lauro was born in 1959 in Holguin, Cuba. Poet, writer, he has received several literary prizes in Cuba where his published collections 'Con la misma furia de la primavera' ( With the Same Fury of Spring) 1986 ; 'Los tesoros del duende', reasures of the Goblin)1987 ; 'Acuarelas' (Water Colors) 1980 ; as well as 'Parabolas y otros poemas' (Parables and other poems) published in Barcelona in 1987.

  

***

  
  

For Reinaldo Arenas

[published in RN 09 Caribbean in December 1992, unpublished original text written in Spanish-Cuba translated by Orlando Alomá]

  

Li

  
  

A beautiful boy, a 15 - year - old murderer, reads your name with disgust from a urinal’ s wall.
Fear not.
He will climb again the stairs to your room.
There your prononce augure another void.
Party pooper.
Suicide in the snow.
Beheaded king.

  

Alberto Lauro, in ’Conversations with Rimbaud’

  

***

  
  

Testament

  

The struggle has been hard.

The devil has been vicious to you.

You tried to whip him

off your body. You seized him

With a haircloth. It was useless.

There he was,

hurling the ashes

of bitter words

on the mire of your heart.

Lord, I pray to you for my brother.

Stand by him

in his final moments. And when he comes to you

tell him : « Let’s go. »

Like the thief

his death

awoke in your kingdom.

  

Alberto Lauro, in ’Words in the Desert’

  

***

  
  

Last conversations with Reinaldo Arenas

  

The images that I have of Reinaldo Arenas blur and gradually he becomes more sharply defined in the impalpable kingdom of the memory. One of my last conversations with him took place in the summer of 1990. I was in a remote spot in Italy and he was in New York. I didn't record the conversation. I didn't want to preserve the voice of someone who was fully conscious of death, of his total oblivion, for Rei – that is how, we, his friends called him, – was a convinced atheist. Only a brief instant was necessary to re-establish the magic between us that his conversation, full of wisdom and biting, corrosive irony, conjured up. He played at being ’l'enfant terrible’* of Cuban literature. That fascinated him. Life, for him, was literature. And vice versa. At almost the same age as Raymond Radiguet was when he was writing ’Le Diable au corps’, he was finishing his first novel, ’Celestino antes del alba’ (The Well), which made him famous. He had previously written another that he considered simply as an exercise. ’Celestino antes del alba’ was praised by Alejo Carpentier, Virgilio Pinera, José Lezama Lima, Eliseo Diego, Cintio Vitio and all the famous names of Cuban literature. He paid a high price for his audaciousness, a price too high for his fundamentally innocent intention. His malice, even when directed against his closest friends, was only meant to entertain. He was misunderstood. This ambiguity amused him.

  

On the other end of the telephone, he spoke to me, delighted with this device invented by men to deceive borders. I guessed his nervousness underlying his carefully chosen words, contrary to his normal verbal quickness, similar to that of his mother. He said it amused him to read my letters to our mutual friends where I wrote about Holguin. This town, situated in the interior of the country, where we were born and where we had, at different periods, spent the first years of our childhoods and our young teenage years, was the background of his novel ’El palacio de las blanquisimas mofetas’ (The Palace of the very white skunks). In this book, as in his collections’Comienza el desfile’ (The parade begins) or ’Bestial entre las flores’ (Bestial parmi les fleurs)**, figure those friends he has described with incomparable grace. As I knew both the reality and the literary fiction, I could enjoy his talent with delicious complicity.

  

He asked me for news of those still in Cuba – the son of the painter Ponce de Léon, the painter Armando Gomez, Delfin Prats, the painter Clara Morera... – and others, amongst whom figured some who would have deserved to receive a certificate like those he had sent ’officially’ and according to the rules and by which he indicated to his correspondants their exclusion from his circle of friends ; he had sent one of these certificates to the poet Nicolas Guillén. He recounted from beginning to end, a novel that he wanted to write about Clara. She was finally surprised by the police plagiarizing the paintings of Heironymous Bosch so well that the critics even doubted the existence of the painter. Before being imprisoned, she transformed her house and her paintings into a huge funeral-pyre. It is an ending similar to that of his story ’La vieja Rosa’ (La vieille Rosa)**, one of his most remarkable literary writings, I believe. To this, he answered that for Clara, in such a context, he could see no other issue.

  

He asked me to visit his mother. She had become a creature helpless confronted with her solitude. At the wake of the writer Virgilio Pinera, I remember a young playwright with very blue eyes, who came up to Reinaldo. He told him that the dead man had thought that no writer of his stature had been born since Lezama Lima and Cabrera Infante. I do not know his reaction. Someone assured me that he cried. What is certain, is that he left. The embalmers had not replaced the corpse when the funeral began. Reinaldo reappeared. We thought you had left – someone said. No – he replied, parodying the famous poem of Césaire – I went to celebrate with a cup of coffee the return of the dead man to his native country.

  

He spoke to me of those people who had been essential to him in those last years : the film-maker Néstor Almendros, the writer Roberto Valero, the Cuban painter, living in Paris, Jorge Camacho and his wife... Afterwards he spoke to me again of his mother, the person preferred. And finally, he came to one of his favorite subjects : Havana. It was his source of inspiration, as was the Cuban colonial novel ’Cecilia Valdés’ by Cirilio Villaverde for the writing of ’La Loma del Angel’ (The Hill of the Angel), one of the most acid and ruthless visions in the history of Cuba. He wandered through Havana, by day seeking elusive nourishment and by night, in the hope of finding some furtive love. He wanted his ashes to be scattered from the jetty so that beautiful young men, half naked, like gods or Greek ephebes, held in the arms of the foam of the waves, should dive into them.

  

He insisted that I photocopy all my notes, poems and manuscripts of my journeys in Switzerland and Italy, at the same time as I was replying to the invitations from the Universities of Fribourg and Neuchâtel. He read me passages from the book of his memoiries ’Antes que anochezca’ (Before the night), which had just been published in Paris. I was moved by the passage of the meeting with other Cuban writers who, like officials - hindered his career and made his life unbearable on the island. Rei contacted them again and forgave them. His pity wiped out every trace of hatred.

  

He started to talk to me again about the photocopies and the manuscripts. He had become completely paranoid, for several of his texts had never been found. Whenever he finished a text, he copied it and distributed it to his friends. I promised him to do the same. And I did. Shortly afterwards, I returned to Havana. I had to submit to a rigorous investigation by the police at Cuba airport. I was questioned and arrested. I was made to undress. They found the addresses of Arenas, Gaston Baquero, Eugenio Florit and other Cuban writers in exile. They searched in my diary. The Customs police officer, transformed into an enquiring reader, found the proof that I had spoken to Reinaldo. From that moment on, he became particularly brutal. They found only a little money (in dollars), brought from Switzerland and destined for the Cuban painter Manero, already very ill with a brain tumor, from which, later he died.

  

That money was the pretext for a trial and I was obliged to pay a fine. The money was confiscated. My manuscripts too.

  

When you go to Florence, write your names on a wall somewhere ; that was his last wish. His life was a devastating chaos thirsting after passions, as if he had been one more character in his novel ’El mundo alucinante’ (The hallucinating world), which received in Paris, the Prix Médicis for the best foreign novel while he was living in Cuba as a beggar. He loathed the idea of aging. He always spoke of suicide as the only possible way out. Premonitory words. His contempt for life was, at the same time of loving it and of laughing at death.

  

Before returning to Havana, I sent him, from Switzerland, a photo of the painter Clara Morera and myself, together with one of our friend, Francine Rosenbaum whom he had christened ’the Helvetic fairy’. With the photos, I posted two poems I had dedicated to him in two unpublished collections. ’Conversaciones con Rimbaud’ (Conversations with Rimbaud) and ’Palabras en el desierto’ (Words in the desert). If he liked these poems he was to telephone me at Francine's where I was staying in an old windmill, full of charm and mystery, right in the middle of an Italian countryside devastated by drought, near Andorra. The telephone was to ring three times. I fixed an hour and a day.

  

The illness which undermined him progressed inexorably. At the agreed time, the telephone rang. Three long rings in the early hours in the countryside, drowned by the song of the crickets, the ocean of stars and the soft, peaceful breathing of the friend who lay not far from me. I did not answer, so as not to say goodbye. I still hope to see him again one day.

  

Alberto Lauro

* In French in the text

** Ed: in 'Termina el desfile' (End of Parade)

  

***

Alberto Lauro – Cuba

 

 

alberto-lauro-cuba

Alberto Lauro est né en 1959 à Holguín, Cuba. Poète, écrivain, il a reçu plusieurs prix dans des concours littéraires à Cuba où a été publié les recueils 'Con la misma furia de la primavera' (Avec la même fureur du printemps) 1986 ; 'Los tesoros del duende' (Les trésors du lutin)  1987 ; 'Acuarelas' (Aquarelles) 1980 ; ainsi que 'Parabolas y otros poemas' (Paraboles et autres poèmes) à Barcelone, 1987.

 

 

***

 

 

 

pour Reinaldo Arenas

[publié dans RN 09 Caraïbes en décembre 1992, texte original en Espagnol-Cuba]

 

 

Li

 

 

Un beau garçon, assassin de 15 ans, dit avec dégoût ton nom lu sur le mur d’un urinoir. Ne crains rien. Il montera les escaliers de ta chambre. Là, ta présence présage un autre vide. Déserteur de la fête. Suicide de la neige. Roi guillotiné.

 

 

Alberto Lauro, extrait de 'Conversation avec Rimbaud'

 

 

 

Testament

 

 

Pour Reinaldo Arenas

 

 

Ardu a été le combat.

Le démon s’est acharné contre toi.

Tu as voulu le chasser de ton corps

à coups de fouet. Dans les cilices

tu l’as attrapé. Ce fut inutile.

Il était là,

en jetant sur la boue

de ton cœur des cendres

de mots amers.

 

 

Seigneur, prie pour mon frère.

 

 

Dans ses derniers instants,

accompagne-le. Et quand il ira vers toi

dis-lui : « Allons ».

Comme au larron

qui au lendemain

de sa mort

se réveilla dans ton royaume.

 

 

Alberto Lauro, extrait de 'Paroles dans le désert'

 

 

 

Dernières conversations avec Reinaldo Arenas

 

 

Les images que je garde de Reinaldo Arenas s’estompent et le rendent chaque fois plus net dans l’impalpable royaume de la mémoire. Un de mes derniers entretiens avec lui eut lieu pendant l’été 1990. Je me trouvais dans un coin perdu de l’Italie et lui à New York. Je n’enregistrai pas la conversation. Je ne voulais pas conserver la voix de quelqu’un qui avait la pleine lucidité de la mort, de sa fin totale, car Rei – c’est ainsi que nous, les amis, l’appelions – était un athée convaincu. Il a suffi d’un court instant pour qu’à nouveau soit établi entre nous l’enchantement que provoquait sa conversation pleine de sagacité et d’ironie mordante et corrosive. Il jouait à être ’l’enfant terrible’* de la littérature cubaine. Cela le fascinait. La vie, pour lui, était littérature. Et vice versa. Presque au même âge où Raymond Radiguet écrivait ’Le Diable au corps’, il terminait son premier roman ’Celestino antes del alba’ (Le Puits) qui le fit connaître. Il en avait écrit auparavant un autre, qu’il considérait uniquement comme un exercice. ’Celestino antes del alba’ fut célébré par Alejo Carpentier, Virgilio Piñera, José Lezama Lima, Eliseo Diego, Cintio Vitier et tous les noms célèbres de la littérature cubaine. Il paya très cher son audace, un prix trop élevé alors que son intention était fondamentalement innocente. Ses méchancetés, mêmes celles faites à ses amis les plus proches, avaient pour seul but de divertir. On ne le comprit point. Il s’amusait de cette équivoque.

 

 

À l’autre bout du téléphone, il me parlait, heureux face à cet appareil inventé par les hommes pour tromper les frontières. Je devinais sa nervosité à travers le calme de ses mots choisis, à l’inverse de son débit verbal coutumier, semblable à celui de sa mère. Il me dit s’amuser à lire ma correspondance à nos amis communs où je donnais des nouvelles de Holguín. Cette ville située à l’intérieur du pays où nous étions nés et où nous avions passé, à des périodes différentes, les premières années de notre enfance et de notre adolescence, fut le cadre de son roman ’El palacios de las blanquísimas mofetas’ (Le palais des très blanches mouffettes). Dans ce livre, ainsi que dans ses récits ’Comienza el desfile’ (Le défilé commence) ou ’Bestial entre las flores’ (Bestial parmi les fleurs)**, sont présent des amis qu’il a dépeints avec une grâce incomparable. Comme je connaissais à la fois la réalité et la fiction littéraire, je pouvais jouir de son talent avec une délicieuse complicité.

 

 

Il me demanda des nouvelles de ceux qui se trouvaient encore à Cuba – le fils du peintre Ponce de Léon, le peintre Armando Gomez, Delfin Prats, la peintre Clara Morera... – et d’autres, parmi lesquels figuraient quelques-uns qui auraient mérité de recevoir un certificat comme ceux qu’il avait expédiés ’officiellement’ et dans les règles, et par lesquels il signifiait à ses correspondants leur exclusion de son cercle d’amis ; il avait envoyé un de ces certificats au poète Nicolás Guillén. Il me raconta du début à la fin un roman qu’il voulait écrire sur Clara. Celle-ci était finalement surprise par la police en train de plagier des tableaux de Jérôme Bosch avec une telle maîtrise que la critique douta même de l’existence du peintre. Avant d’être emprisonnée, elle transforma en immense bûcher sa maison et ses tableaux. C’est une fin semblable à celle de son récit ’La vieja Rosa’ (La vieille Rosa)**, un de ses écrits littéraires le plus remarquable, je pense. À ce, il me répondit que pour Clara, dans un tel contexte, il ne voyait pas d’autre issue.

 

 

Il me demanda d’aller rendre visite à sa mère. Elle était devenue une créature sans défense face à la solitude. Lors de la veillée funèbre de l’écrivain Virgilio Piñera, je me souviens d’un jeune dramaturge aux yeux très bleus se rapprochant de Reinaldo. Il lui dire que le défunt pensait qu’il n’était pas né un écrivain de sa dimension depuis Lezama Lima et Cabrera Infante. Je ne connus pas sa réaction. Quelqu’un m’assura qu’il pleura. Ce qui est certain, c’est qu’il partit. Les embaumeurs n’avaient pas encore remis le cadavre de Virgilio Piñera que les funérailles commencèrent. Reinaldo réapparut. Nous pensions que tu étais parti – lui dit quelqu’un. Non – répondit-il, en parodiant l’illustre poème de Césaire – j’allai célébrer avec un café le retour du défunt à son pays natal.

 

 

Il me parla des personnes qui lui furent essentielles dans les dernières années : le réalisateur Néstor Almendros, l’écrivain Roberto Valero, le peintre cubain, résident à Paris, Jorge Camacho et sa femme... Ensuite, il reparla de sa mère, la personne préférée. Et finalement arriva à un de ses sujets favoris : La Havane. Il s’en inspira ainsi que du roman colonial cubain ’Cecilia Valdés’, de Cirilo Villaverde pour écrire ’La Loma del Angel’ (la Colline de l’Ange), un des regards les plus acides et impitoyables de l’histoire de Cuba. Il parcourait La Havane, de jour à la recherche d’insaisissables nourritures, et de nuit dans l’espoir de trouver quelque amour furtif. De la jetée, il voulait que ses cendres fussent dispersées pour que de beaux adolescents à moitié nus, comme des dieux ou des éphèbes grecs, serrés par les bras de l’écume des vagues, plongeassent en elles.

 

 

Il insista pour que je photocopie toutes mes notes, poèmes et manuscrits de mon séjour en Suisse et en Italie, en même temps que je répondais aux invitations de l’Université de Fribourg et de Neuchâtel. Il me lut des passages du livre de ses mémoires ’Antes que anochezca’ (Avant la nuit) qui venait d’être publié à Paris. Je fus ému par le passage de la rencontre avec d’autres écrivains cubains qui – comme des fonctionnaires – firent obstacle à sa carrière et rendirent insupportable sa vie dans l’île. Rei renoua contact avec eux et leur pardonna. Sa pitié effaça tout vestige de haine.

 

 

Il recommença à me parler des photocopies et des manuscrits. Il devenait complètement paranoïaque, car plusieurs de ses textes n’ont jamais été retrouvés. Chaque fois qu’il finissait un texte, il le reproduisait et le distribuait à ses amis. Je lui promis de le faire. Et le fis. Peu de temps après, je retournai à La Havane. Soumis à un rigoureux examen par la police à l’aéroport de Cuba, je fus interrogé et arrêté. On me déshabilla. Ils retrouvèrent l’adresse d’Arenas, Gastón Baquero, Eugenio Florit et d’autres écrivains cubains en exil. Il fouillèrent dans mon journal. Le policier de la douane, transformé en un lecteur attentif, avait la preuve que j’avais parlé avec Reinaldo. À partir de ce moment-là, il fut particulièrement brutal. Ils ne trouvèrent que quelque argent (en dollars), apporté de Suisse, destiné au peintre cubain Manero, déjà très malade d’une tumeur cancéreuse à la tête, de laquelle, plus tard, il décéda.

 

 

Cet argent me fit avoir un procès et je dus payer une amende. L’argent fut confisqué. Mes manuscrits aussi.

 

 

Quand tu iras à Florence, écris nos noms sur un mur quelconque, fut son dernier vœu. Sa vie a été un chaos dévastateur dans la soif des passions, comme s’il avait été un personnage de plus de son roman ’El mundo alucinante’ (Le monde hallucinant), qui reçut à Paris le Prix Médicis du meilleur roman étranger alors qu’il vivait à Cuba comme un mendiant. Il avait horreur de vieillir. Du suicide, il parlait toujours comme une fin préférée. Paroles prémonitoires. Son mépris pour la vie était en même temps une manière de l’aimer et de se moquer de la mort.

 

 

Avant de retourner à La Havane, je lui fis parvenir, depuis la Suisse, une photo du peintre Clara Morera et de moi, auprès de notre amie Françine Rosenbaum qu’il baptisa ’la fée helvétique’. Avec les photos, je lui postai deux poèmes que je lui dédiais dans deux recueils inédits. ’Conversaciones con Rimbaud’ (Conversations avec Rimbaud) et ’Palabras en el desierto' (Mots dans le désert). S’il aimait ces poèmes, il devait me téléphoner chez Francine où je me trouvais dans un vieux moulin plein de charme et de mystère, en plein milieu de la campagne italienne ravagée par la sécheresse, près d’Andora.

 

 

La sonnette du téléphone devait sonner trois fois. Je fixai une heure et un jour.

 

 

La maladie qui le minait progressait inexorablement. Au moment convenu du rendez-vous, le téléphone sonna. Trois longs coups dans le petit matin de la campagne, inondé par le chant des grillons, l’océan d’étoiles et la douce et apaisante respiration de l’amie qui dormait non loin de moi. Je n’ai pas décroché le téléphone, pour ne pas dire au revoir. J’ai toujours l’espoir de le rencontrer un jour.

 

 

Alberto Lauro, textes originaux inédits écrits en Espagnol-Cuba

 

 

* en français dans le texte

** ndr : in ’Termina el desfile’ (Fin de défilé)

 

 

 

***