Revue Noire 26

  • Magazine
  • Music

MADAGASCAR

 

Art Portfolios : Joël Andrianomearisoa, Edouard Rajoana, Efiambelo, Raveloson Fidj 'Max', Désiré Rasolofoson, Danielson Randrianomenjanahary…

artists panorama

Photography : Razaka, Ramilijaona, Anta - FTM, Pierrot Men, Dany Be, Ramily, Armand Maksim Seth…

Literature  : Michèle Rakotoson, Esther Nirina, Baovola Fidison, Jean Luc Raharimanana, David Jaomanoro, Lila Ratsifandrihamanana, Patrick Ramanonjisoa

Dance

Cinema

Design - fashion

Talks - Memories

 

 

CD 'RN in TANA'

Original songs recorded for Revue Noire by  Kangasy, Ricky, Tata Rahely, Samoela Rasolofomiaina, Nannie Razafimbelo, Tiana, Sammy, Johnny, The Specialists, Troubadours

 

 

 

EditorJean Loup Pivin

100 pages 33x23cm

Published in September 1997

In French and English

 

 

 

Buy PAPER OR PDF MAGAZINE

EDITO 

 

 

Rainfall on Antananarivo

 

From elections to disillusions, the silence and traffic-saturated capital lives to the rhythm of its miseries and desires. The Queen’s Palace, symbol of the power the Madagascans have had over their country for a long time (even though some people see it as the symbol of Merina power over the rest of the island’s peoples) was burned down in 1996. Yet it still towers over the city, its outer walls and symbol intact, though void of floors and partitions, and covered in temporary iron roofing that reflects the sky : a paradoxical image of near perfect modernity that requires only minimal artistic work on lighting and substance to be gently completed. Symbols don’t need to be inhabited or trampled ; their power is all the stronger when they only show images. And this palace, with its eclectically European architecture that does not impose admiration, built by a French?architect in the 19th century, takes on its full strength when it loses its function as a shelter and a house and by asserting the abstract symbol it has become. Unfortunately, the Palace will be rebuilt with all the international meticulousness of « historical monuments » that makes them all look the same. Without the soul of the Queen who built it. Emptiness horrifies a world hungry to fill meaning with opaque materials.At the foot of the Palace, the Grill du Rova will turn into a "fast food".

 

Never try to understand, just look. Yet everything is invisible and silent here, even though the whole World can be perceived here, and even though the full forms never reveal what is today’s or yesterday’s, from here or elsewhere. Madagascar is fierce with herself and with invaders. But where are the invaders ? Are they the people who fled their country in 1970 and now want to come back as the builders of a new world ? Are they the scraps of international culture and economy, washed free of all harshness and all ideals, that flood into the homes and towns ? Are they the sensual photos of original sinners sold in European book shops ? The « authentic » rural sounds of music groups dressed up in traditional costume when they tour abroad ?

 

 

Or the innards of Madagascan culture which, despite their pride, have never stopped being open to the world’s influence and which now openly reinvent writing, dance and music with sincerity and need ?

 

 

by Jean Loup Pivin

 

 

 

contents of RN 26 :

 

 

ART / MADAGASCAR / Joël Andrianomearisoa, Edouard Rajoana, Efiambelo, Raveloson Fidj 'Max', Désiré Rasolofoson, Danielson Randrianomenjanahary, Xhi, M' Aa, Jean Paul Rakotonirina 'Nirina', Chan, Noël Razfintsalama, Jean de Dieu Rakotosolofo

PHOTO / MADAGASCAR / Razaka, Rill, Razolo, Randria, Gervais Randrianasolo, Ramilijaona, Anta, Pierrot Men, Dany Be, Ramily, Emile Rakotondrazaka, Faly, Armand Andrianasolo, Jocelyn Rasolofo, Toussain Raharison, Armand Maksim Seth, Jules Richard

LITERATURE / MADAGASCAR / Michèle Rakotoson, Esther Nirina, Baovola Fidison, Jean Luc Raharimanana, David Jaomanoro, Lila Ratsifandrihamanana, Patrick Ramanonjisoa

DANCE / MADAGASCAR / Mialy, Ariry Andriamoratsiresy, Riry

THEATRE / MADAGASCAR / Miangaly, Angora

MUSIQUE / MADAGASCAR / Revue Noire à Tana, Kangasy, Ricky, Tata Rahely, Samoela Rasolofomiaina, Nannie Razafimbelo, Tiana, Sammy, Johnny, The Specialists, Troubadours

DESIGN FASHION / MADAGASCAR / Razafinjatovo, Claudine Rakotonena, Hans , Sylvia Andriamaivo, Zo Razakaratrimo, Kala S., Faly, Compagnie de Madagascar, Debra

 

TALKS MEMORY / Jean Loup Pivin, Elie Rajaonarison, Pascale Marthine Tayou

ART NEWS / exhibit "Autres Modernes" in Berlin, Shirin Neshat, Oladele A. Bamgoye, Moshekwa Langa, Geoffrey Grundlingh, Roger Ballen, Zwelethu Mthethwa, Julia Tiffin, David Goldblatt, Dak'Art 1998, Serigne Baye Camara, Viyé Diba

 

 

Few pages from Magazine RN 26 :

[run the slideshow below]

Revue Noire 26

  • Magazine
  • Musique

MADAGASCAR

 

Portfolios Art visuel : Joël Andrianomearisoa, Edouard Rajoana, Désiré Rasolofoson, Danielson Randrianomenjanahary…

Panorama des artistes de Madagascar

Photographie : Razaka, Razolo, Ramilijaona, Anta - FTM, Pierrot Men, Dany Be, Ramily, Armand Maksim Seth…

Littérature - théâtre : Michèle Rakotoson, Esther Nirina, Baovola Fidison, Jean Luc Raharimanana, David Jaomanoro, Patrick Ramanonjisoa…

Danse

Cinéma

Musique

Design - mode

Entretiens - Mémoires

 

 

CD RN à TANA

Musique inédite de Kangasy, Ricky, Tata Rahely, Samoela Rasolofomiaina, Nannie Razafimbelo, Tiana, Sammy, Johnny, The Specialists, Troubadours

 

 

 

Sous la direction de Jean Loup Pivin

100 pages 33x23cm

Edition de septembre 1997

En français et anglais

 

 

 

ACHETER le magazine PAPIER ou PDF

EDITO

 

 

Il pleut sur Antananarivo

 

 

D’élections en désillusions, la capitale saturée de silences et d’embouteillages vit au rythme de ses misères et de ses désirs. Le Palais de la Reine, symbole du pouvoir des malgaches sur leur pays depuis longtemps (même si certains y verront plutôt l’image du pouvoir merina sur le reste des peuples de l’île) a été incendié en 1996. Il domine pourtant toujours la ville, entier dans son symbole et dans son enveloppe, totalement vide de planchers et cloisons, couvert de toitures provisoires en tôle qui reflètent le ciel : une image paradoxale d’une modernité presque parfaite que seul un travail artistique minimal sur les lumières et les matières pourrait doucement compléter. Les symboles n’ont pas besoin d’être habités ou piétinés ; leur puissance est d’autant plus forte qu’ils ne donnent à voir que des images. Et puis ce palais d’architecture éclectique européenne qui ne force pas l’admiration, construit par un architecte français au siècle dernier, prend toute sa force en perdant sa fonction d’abri et d’habitation et en affirmant le symbole abstrait qu’il est devenu. Malheureusement le Palais sera reconstruit avec la méticulosité internationale des "monuments historiques" qui les font tous se ressembler. Sans l’âme de celle, la Reine, qui l’a bâti. Le vide fait horreur dans un monde qui a soif de remplir le sens de matière opaque.

 

Et au pied du Palais, le Grill du Rova deviendra un "fast food".

 

Toujours ne pas chercher à comprendre, simplement regarder. Pourtant ici, tout est invisible et silencieux, même si on perçoit que le Monde y est en entier, même si les formes pleines ne dévoilent jamais ce qui est d’aujourd’hui ou d’hier, d’ici ou d’ailleurs. Madagascar est féroce pour elle-même comme pour les envahisseurs. Mais où sont aujourd’hui les envahisseurs ? Sont-ce ceux qui, dans les années 1970, ont fui leur pays et veulent revenir comme des bâtisseurs d’un monde nouveau ? Sont-ce ces bouts de culture et d’économie internationales, lavés de toute aspérité et de tout idéal qui pénètrent en flots dans les foyers et les villes ? Sont-ce ces photographies sensuelles et fabriquées, de pécheurs originels vendues dans les librairies européennes ? Sont-ce ces sons ruraux, « authentiques », de groupes musicaux déguisés de costumes traditionnels lors des tournées à l’étranger ? Ou, et, sont-ce les entrailles de la culture malgache qui malgré toute sa fierté, n’ont jamais eu de cesse d’être ouvertes à toutes les influences du monde et qui réinventent l’écriture, la danse et la musique d’aujourd’hui, sans autre fard que celui de la sincérité et de la nécessité ?

 

par Jean Loup Pivin

 

 

 

sommaire du  RN 26 :

 

 

ART / MADAGASCAR / Joël Andrianomearisoa, Edouard Rajoana, Efiambelo, Raveloson Fidj 'Max', Désiré Rasolofoson, Danielson Randrianomenjanahary, Xhi, M' Aa, Jean Paul Rakotonirina 'Nirina', Chan, Noël Razfintsalama, Jean de Dieu Rakotosolofo

PHOTO / MADAGASCAR / Razaka, Rill, Razolo, Randria, Gervais Randrianasolo, Ramilijaona, Anta, Pierrot Men, Dany Be, Ramily, Emile Rakotondrazaka, Faly, Armand Andrianasolo, Jocelyn Rasolofo, Toussain Raharison, Armand Maksim Seth, Jules Richard

LITTERATURE / MADAGASCAR / Michèle Rakotoson, Esther Nirina, Baovola Fidison, Jean Luc Raharimanana, David Jaomanoro, Lila Ratsifandrihamanana, Patrick Ramanonjisoa

DANSE / MADAGASCAR / Mialy, Ariry Andriamoratsiresy, Riry

THEATRE / MADAGASCAR / Miangaly, Angora

MUSIQUE / MADAGASCAR / Revue Noire à Tana, Kangasy, Ricky, Tata Rahely, Samoela Rasolofomiaina, Nannie Razafimbelo, Tiana, Sammy, Johnny, The Specialists, Troubadours

 

ARCHITECTURE PATRIMOINE DESIGN / Razafinjatovo, Claudine Rakotonena, Hans , Sylvia Andriamaivo, Zo Razakaratrimo, Kala S., Faly, Compagnie de Madagascar, Debra

ENTRETIEN MEMOIRE / Jean Loup Pivin, Elie Rajaonarison, Pascale Marthine Tayou

ACTUALITES du MONDE / expo "Autres Modernes" à Berlin, Shirin Neshat, Oladele A. Bamgoye, Moshekwa Langa, Geoffrey Grundlingh, Roger Ballen, Zwelethu Mthethwa, Julia Tiffin, David Goldblatt, Dak'Art 1998, Serigne Baye Camara, Viyé Diba

 

 

QUELQUES pages DU Magazine RN 26 :

[déroulez le diaporama ci-dessous]