Caya Makhele-Congo Brazzaville

Caya Makhele, Congo, Brazzaville, Writer
  

Caya Makhele was born in Congo-Brazzaville in 1954 and has been living in Paris for the fast 8 years . A play-writer and theatre producer, who started his own company in 1981 and put together some of his own works which were played in Brazzaville, Kinshasa and Paris : ’Sa Majesté le vent’, ’Le boxeur’, ’La fable du cloître des cimetières’ . Caya Makhele is also a writer of two novels, ’L'homme au landau’ and ’Le voyage inattendu’ (Éditions L’Harmattan), and one children's book, ’Une vie d’éléphants' (Edicef-Hachette).

  

***

  
  

Canis Familiaris

[published in RN 04 in March 1992, unpublished original text written in French translated by V.C. Koppel]

  

What we have here is a god who's been banished and become a devil on earth.

The gods have their black sheep too.

In this scene the metamorphosis of Makiadi continues.

  
  

– A stand in the marketplace. Beyond it some two-by-fours are scattered about on the ground.

  
Ogba – In a trance
A grey miniature poodle, lovely lady, and your hair will stand on end! The poodle is for an estouffade. One of my favorite dishes. Marinate the poodle for as long as your patience holds out, in palm wine seasoned with pimento, bay leaves, a few cloves, little onions, salt and a litre of peanut oil. When the big day comes, reheat the poodle with bacon cut in triangles, strain the marinade, put the meat in a casserole and simmer, covered, here again, for as long as you can stand it. While that’s cooking, make a thick sauce of chicken or tortoise blood... My good man, for you, two black briards and you’ll leave here with as many dirty tricks as you’d ever need to know ! I am Ogba the devil-god. Here today, gone tomorrow. Don’t miss your chance. I‘ve got nine hundred and ninety thousand objects that’ll transport you to worlds you never dreamed of. You’ve got troubles, I’m a trouble doctor, like I was a shoe doctor, a watch doctor, a clothes doctor, doctor of all sorts of problems. Don’t hesitate to come see me, I’ve got a solution for all your problems. Have a look, it can’t hurt. Some camel stomach powder, scorpion venom and cockroach turd liqueurs, frog spittle, holy water and lilliputian sperm balms. Ageless vials. Come on over, don’t be afraid ! Are you all gonna desert me ?
  
I’m Ogba, the devil-god. Kind today, who knows what tomorrow. Choose your day. Butter me up with a couple of dogs : a Yorkshire male, a Basset female, vaccinated and tatooed, a Greyhound, a Bulldog, a Briard, a Fox terrier, a Boxer, a Doberman, pedigreed or not, even some Dachshunds, that dirty nasty species - according to St. Anthony – and don’t forget the Batéké dogs. Ogba is a cross-eyed pig. He burps, limps, ogles, drools and farts.
  
Ogba is Ogba !
  
– Come in Makiadi
Ogba knows just what you need, a mask. I’ve got masks of all colors here. You want to be white, black, yellow, red, albino, mulatto, I’ve got the mask for you. Happy masks, sad masks, hypocrite masks, hate masks, desperation and disdain masks, tired masks and rested masks. Just put one on and off you go, a new you.
  
Makiadi
No thanks, I don’t need a mask.
  
Ogba
That’s too bad, a little happy mask would brighten your face up.
  
Makiadi
Sorry, but I have the face I need. It’s the face of defeat, abandon, and resignation.
  
Ogba
In that case you need a hate mask. You’ll hate every creature on earth.
  
Makiadi
I wouldn’t know how to have hate on my face. I was forbidden to show hate.
  
Ogba
By whom ?
  
Makiadi
A woman.
  
Ogba
You love her and you’re trying to forget, is that it ? She’s driving you crazy and you don’t know where to find her. She’s running through your veins like a spooked horse and you feel her whinny in your gut. You’re in love with a dead woman. The leash she’s got you on reaches through limbo, a universe I know well.
  
Makiadi
You’re right.
  
Ogba
Ogba can’t be wrong. Ogba has eyes everywhere. Night eyes, day eyes, X-ray eyes, eyes that see far and wide. I take care of my eyesight with cat’s eyes. I don’t like cat meat, so when there’s cat I only eat the eyes. I’m a worry doctor and I’m at your service, noble sir.
  
Makiadi
Can you tell me how to find my beloved and how to save her ?
  
Ogba
How many dogs have you got ? I don’t want any more cat’s eyes. I had a stomach ache just last night from too many. So, how many dogs have you got ?
  
Makiadi
None.
  
Ogba
This country is disappointing ; Not a single dog left. Let me tell you, there was a time when you couldn’t even go out, the sidewalk was so full of dog shit. Those were the good old days. Ogba arrived... Ogba, that’s me. We’re Ogba from generation to generation, so that down through the ages there is, in effect, but one Ogba. Anyway, at that time, all I had to do was reach out my hand to catch as many canis familiaris as I could eat. Other times, other tastes.
  
Makiadi
All you eat is dog ? You don’t think that’s disgusting ?
  
Ogba
Have you ever heard of education ? Being taught how to woo a woman, how to dress, to have morals. In my case, I was taught how to eat. I was taught to eat dogs, and they’re good to chew, they are the basic identity of my stomach. And we’re living in an age of identities, don’t you agree ?
  
Makiadi
Is that a reason ?
  
Ogba
What do you know about stewed spaniel leg, about how you have to let it hang two full days, debone it just half way up, wrap it twice in strips of lard, tie the whole thing together with string, and not forget to stick it with raw garlic cloves ? You have to know how to prepare the skillet using palm oil. Then all you have to do is add the spaniel, seal the pot and put it in a hot oven. You wait, but not very long, because the smell coming from the oven will well whet your appetite. Take it out and sprinkle it with a little water. Done like this, it cooks through and ends up with a delicious, crusty skin.
  
Makiadi
Listen, I didn’t really mean anything by that. I know there are even people who eat caterpillar and snails. I’m perfectly tolerant, in fact. I just don’t have a dog to give you.
  
Ogba
No matter ! You seem likable enough to me. I’m gonna give you the steak tartare of german shepherd recipe... Really - it’s so easy, you can probably guess what to do. Better yet, the recipe for bulldog head in grain sauce.
  
Makiadi
Keep your recipe. Just give me a new face and get going.
  
Ogba
Don’t worry, I’m going to change your face right away and for free.
  
– He rumages through his stuff pulling out one mask after another.
No, not this one, it’s too narrow. Not this one either, no...no...no... Decidedly, there’s nothing here that really suits you. Oh look...look ! What have we here ? A habit ! Ogba the devil-god has found a monk’s frock for his nameless friend.
  
– He gives him the monk’s robe.
It’s the body mask you should change. Here, put this on !
  
Makiadi
You’re not thinking straight, these things are sacred !
  
Ogba
Because I’m a devil-god and because I guarantee peace of mind. Don’t hesitate too long, opportunity may be passing you by.
  
Makiadi
If you think this will help me find my beloved...
He puts the habit on. Church bells ring and a religious chant can be heard.
  
Ogba
Do you hear how the habit is accepting you ? Have faith in my diabolic know-how, you’re not far from this woman you call your beloved.
  
Makiadi
If only what you say could be true !
  
Ogba
Here, as a bonus, I’ll build you a confessional.
He slaps together two seats out of the two-by-fours lying around and puts them facing each other.
There you go, a poor man’s confessional, but it works.
He packs up his things and leaves.
See you later !
  
  
Caya Makhele

***

Caya Makhélé-Congo Brazzaville

Caya Makhele, Congo, Brazzaville, écrivain
  

Caya Makhélé est né au Congo-Brazzaville en 1954 et vit à Paris depuis 1985 . Auteur et metteur en scène de théâtre, il a créé sa compagnie en 1981 et monté lui-même certaines de ses oeuvres qui ont été jouées à Brazzaville, Kinshasa et Paris : ’Sa majesté le vent’, ’Le boxeur’, ’La fable du cloître des cimetières’. Caya Makhélé est également l'auteur de deux romans : ’L'homme au landau’ et ’Le voyage inattendu’ (Éditions L'Harmattan), et d'un roman pour les enfants, ’Une vie d’éléphants' (Edicef-Hachette).

  

***

  
  

Canis Familiaris

[publié dans RN 04 en mars 1992, texte inédit original en français]

  

Ici, il est question d’un dieu banni, devenu diable ambulant.

Les dieux aussi ont leur engeance.

Ici, continue la métamorphose de Makiadi.

  
  
– Un étal sur une place de marché. Pas loin quelques planches jonchant le sol.
  
Ogba – En transe
Un caniche nain gris et vous avez, belle dame, une robe qui regarde le ciel !
Le caniche, c’est pour une estouffade. Un de mes plats de prédilection. Faire mariner le caniche selon son degré de patience dans un vin de palme assaisonné de piment, de laurier, de quelques clous de girofle, de petits oignons, de sel et d’un litre d’huile d’arachide. Le jour de la grande cuisson, faire revenir son caniche avec du lard coupé en triangle, passer la marinade, mettre la viande dans un toupin en terre, laisser mijoter à l’étouffée ; là aussi, le temps que peut durer votre patience. Avant la fin de la cuisson, faire une sauce liante avec du sang de poulet ou de tortue. Mon bon monsieur, pour vous, deux briards noirs et vous repartez avec autant de mauvais tours que désirer ! Je suis Ogba, le dieu-diable. Aujourd’hui je suis là, demain je n’y suis plus. Ne laissez pas passer votre chance. J’ai neuf cent quatre-vingt dix mille objets qui vous transporteront dans des mondes que vous ne soupçonnez pas. Vous avez un chagrin, je suis docteur des chagrins, comme j’ai été docteur des montres, docteur des chaussures, docteur de la sape, docteur des problèmes en tout genre. N’hésitez pas à venir me consulter, j’ai la solution de tous vos problèmes. Regarder, rien que pour votre bien, de la poudre d’estomac de chameau, des liqueurs au venin de scorpion et de crottes de cafards, des baumes à la bave de grenouille, à l’eau bénite, au sperme de lilliputien, des fioles sans âge. Venez, n’hésitez pas ! Ce pays serait-il désert ?
  
Je suis Ogba, dieu-diable. Aujourd'hui charitable, demain redoutable, choisissez votre jour. Amadouez-moi avec quelques chiens : yorkshire mâle, basset femelle avec vaccin et tatouage, lévrier, bouledogue, briard, fox-terrier, boxer, doberman avec ou sans pedigree, même des teckels cette sale et méchante race selon saint Antoine, et n’oubliez pas les chiens batékés. Ogba est un glouton qui rote, qui louche, qui boîte, qui lorgne, qui bave, qui pète.
  
Ogba est Ogba !
  
– Entre Makiadi
Ogba sait ce que vous cherchez. Un masque. J’ai ici les masques de toutes les couleurs. Vous voulez devenir blanc, noir, jaune, rouge, albinos, mulâtre, j’ai le masque qu’il vous faut. Des masques de joie, de peine, d’hypocrisie, de haine, de dépit, de désespoir, de dédain, de fatigue, de repos. Un masque sur soi et hop ! En un tour, vous voilà transformé.
  
Makiadi
Non merci, je ne veux pas de masque.
  
Ogba
Et pourtant un petit masque de joie vous illuminerait le visage.
  
Makiadi
Désolé, j’ai le visage qu’il me faut. Un visage de défaite. Un visage d’abandon, de résignation.
  
Ogba
Dans ce cas, il vous faut un visage de haine. Vous aurez une haine tenace pour toute espèce.
  
Makiadi
Je ne saurais avoir un visage de haine, quelqu’un me l’interdit.
  
Ogba
Qui ?
  
Makiadi
Une femme.
  
Ogba
Vous l’aimez et vous cherchez à l’oublier, c’est çà ? Elle vous mange la tête et vous ne savez où la trouver. Elle trotte en vous comme un cheval égaré et vous entendez ses hennissements dans votre ventre. Vous êtes amoureux d’une morte. La laisse par laquelle elle vous tient, traverse les limbes d’un univers que je connais fort bien.
  
Makiadi
Vous dites juste.
  
Ogba
Ogba ne peut dire faux. Ogba a des yeux partout. Des yeux pour la nuit, des yeux pour le jour. Des yeux pour voir à travers, en long et en large. Je soigne ma vue avec des yeux de chats. Je n’aime pas la chair de chat. Alors, des chats je ne mange que les yeux. Je suis docteur des soucis et me mets à votre disposition, noble étranger.
  
Makiadi
Pouvez-vous me dire comment retrouver et sauver ma bien-aimée ?
  
Ogba
De combien de chiens disposez-vous ? Je ne veux plus d’yeux de chats. J’en ai eu une indigestion pas plus tard que cette nuit. Combien ?
  
Makiadi
Aucun.
  
Ogba
Ce pays me désole. Plus un seul chien. Dire qu’il fut une époque où vous ne pouviez plus sortir, parce que vos trottoirs étaient jonchés de déjections canines ! C’était la belle saison. Ogba arrivait, Ogba c’est moi, nous sommes Ogba de génération en génération, ainsi en fait, il n’y a qu’un seul Ogba qui traverse les siècles. À cette époque donc, il me suffisait de tendre la main pour attraper autant de canis familiaris que mon estomac souhaitait. D’autres temps, d’autres faims.
  
Makiadi
Vous ne mangez que des chiens ? Vous ne trouvez pas cela dégoûtant ?
  
Ogba
Avez-vous déjà entendu parlez de l’éducation ? Par exemple de l’éducation sentimentale, vestimentaire ou morale. Dans mon cas, il s’agit d’éducation gastronomique. J’ai appris à manger des chiens, je les trouve bons à mastiquer, ils fondent l’identité de mon estomac. Ne pensez-vous pas que nous vivons le siècle des identités ?
  
Makiadi
Est-ce une raison ?
  
Ogba
Que savez-vous du gigot d’épagneul à l’étouffée, de la manière dont il faut laisser reposer le gigot pendant deux jours pleins, le désosser jusqu’à la moitié du manche, l’orner intérieurement de deux bardes de lard, le ficeler sans oublier de le piquer de gousses d’ail crues ? Il faut savoir préparer la cocotte en y mettant de l’huile de palme. Il suffira d’y ajouter le gigot d’épagneul, couvrir hermétiquement et mettre à four chaud. Attendre, pas longtemps car l’odeur de la cuisson vous appelle bien vite. Il ne vous restera plus qu’à sortir, l’arroser d’un peu d’eau. Ainsi, il cuira jusqu’au cœur et sera paré d’une peau croustillante et délicieuse.
  
Makiadi
Vous savez, je disais ça pour parler. Il y a bien des gens qui mangent des chenilles ou des escargots. En fait je suis tolérant. Seulement je n’ai pas de chien à vous offrir.
  
Ogba
Qu’importe ! Vous m’êtes très sympathique. Je vais vous donner la recette du steack tartare de berger allemand... Non, c’est bien trop simple à réaliser, on devine de suite ce qu’il faut faire. Tenez, plutôt celle de la tête de bouledogue à la sauce graine.
  
Makiadi
Gardez-donc votre recette pour vous, donnez-moi plutôt un autre visage et allez-vous en.
  
Ogba
N’ayez crainte, je vais de ce pas vous changer gratuitement de visage.
  
– Il farfouille dans son bazar, sort un masque après l’autre.
Non, pas celui-ci, il est trop étroit. Celui-là non plus, non ...Non... Non…
Décidément il n’y a rien qui puisse allez sur vous. Voyons... Voyons ! Qu’avons-nous là ? Un trousseau ! Ogba, dieu-diable, a trouvé un trousseau de moine pour son ami sans nom. Voici qui fera votre affaire.
  
– Il lui offre un costume de moine.
C’est le masque du corps qu’il vous faut changer. Tenez ! Habillez-vous !
  
Makiadi
Vous n’y pensez pas, ces choses-là sont sacrées !
  
Ogba
Puisque je suis dieu-diable et que je vous en garantis la placidité. N’hésitez pas trop longtemps, votre chance est peut-être en train de passer en courant.
  
Makiadi
Si vous pensez que cela m’aiderait à retrouver ma bien-aimée.
Il s’habille. Des cloches sonnent et on entend un chant religieux.
  
Ogba
Vous entendez comme ce costume vous accepte ? Croyez en mon expérience diabolique, vous n’êtes plus loin de cette femme que vous nommez bien-aimée.
  
Makiadi
Si vous pouviez dire vrai !
  
Ogba
Tenez, en prime je vous bâtis un confessionnal.
Il confectionne à la hâte avec un tas de planches deux sièges, les dispose l’un en face de l’autre.
Voilà, c’est un confessionnal de pays pauvre, mais il est efficace.
Il emballe ses affaires et sort.
À bientôt !
  
  
Caya Makhélé
  
  

***